With the translation function in computers, learning a foreign language is a waste of time. In which extent are you agree?

Technology has achieved tremendous growth in the 21st century and has became an integral part of the economy. One of such is the computer which's increasing usage has led to a question as to whether there is any need of learning an alien language despite it coming with an inbuilt-translation function. Although, I do not concur with this notion as it sounds me incorrect.

To elaborate my viewpoint, there are umpteen number of causes. The most preponderant one is that language itself is an separate identity - different in various cultures, countries and regions. To cite an example, lets look at India - a diverse country with distinctive states, casts, religions and - languages which amounts up to nearby 24 by the whole population. Hence, thinking that computer translation function can replace all of them completely and perfectly is utter nonsense. Another reason to consider is the knowledge of the computer and facilities required to operate which are not readily available in many countries as either these do not have great number of literate people. For instance, often in the remotes areas of the some third-world nations, there is scarcity of education and modern day amenities.

Additionally, translating something and understanding itself is quite a lengthy process, as a matter of fact, once a person has learned the foreign language, he/she does not need to do so which make it much more efficient and reliable. To instantiate, if an individual need to translate a big chunk of text or instructions in overseas linguistics, it will take some time along with the end result being not much reliable as there may be some words that translation function cannot understand or cause of other reasons like spelling errors and so on. Last but not least aspect is the preference of the person to learn a new language or not rather than being the matter of efficiency.

To put the nail in coffin, nothing is a waste of time especially learning something new like language which relates to many facets of the country and widens the knowledge of the person.