Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development overweight the disadvantages?

It is undoubted that the appearance of distance education has revolutionized the way of teaching and learning. However, there remains a controversial issue on whether it is a more a blessing or a curse. It is my personal belief that although the cons are inescapable, the benefits it brings to us generally outweigh the drawbacks.

To begin with, we have to admit that on-line education do cause problems. Initially, for students who are lack of self-control, large possibilities are that they will either indulge themselves in on-line games or will be distracted from on-line chat rooms without proper supervision from teachers. Moreover, individual learning experience may make the young adults become socially inadequate, even isolated due to the lack of face-to-face communications with teachers and fellows.

However, seen from the positive side, certain virtues can be gained via distance education. First, distance education can provide a more flexible schedule for students to arrange their study plan more freely. This is especially suitable for special learning groups, such as part-time learners, sick students or self-learners. More importantly, tele-education is a convenient and economical way of learning -- students do not have to travel for long distances and pay for expensive tuition. Ultimately, it shares the greatest teaching resources in the world and provides equal chances for learners from any corner of the world, which will definitely help to enhance the educational level of humankind.

By way of conclusion, distance teaching is a blessing brought by the progress of the Internet. However, it is better for us to take it as a supplementary tool of traditional teaching rather than a replacement and try to prevent or at least weaken its negative impact.