Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

As technology grows faster and faster, many post secondary institutions provides online delivered learning system instead of face-to-face class instructed by teacher. I opine that the merits are greater than demerits.

To begin with, there are some drawbacks associated with receiving distant lectures on the Internet. First and foremost, failure to build intimacy between teachers and students can be shown. This is because they naturally lose the chances to meet each other in the classroom and it may be seen as an extinction of interaction among them. Furthermore, the quality of the lectures might be concerned. Considering the fact that we are required to use electronical devices to attend classes and those are imperfect sometimes, the classes will go through less communication with their professors as well as less lively atmosphere when acquiring contents.

Nervertheless, two prime benefits related to online learning can be found. Firstly, it gurantees considerable time saving. By having classes at home, both faculty and students do not need to commute. As a result, they are not expected to be ready to go out and spend time for the morning routine which can be invested into sleeping. Secondly, this distant learning method enables more students to take various courses offered by other universities over the world. This is because they can save money for accommodation and extra living costs which are a huge amount of money.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks with taking classes online, I believe that benefits of time and money savings are far more.