Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, the selection of students in higher education should be equal for males and females. I disagree with the idea of accepting the same proportions of both genders in every university subject. This essay will explain why and will provide evidence to support my opinion.

To begin with, having the same number of men and women in each university is simply unrealistic. Some areas of work and related study fields are not appropriate for just one gender and that is why they would naturally show less interest in those areas of study. In reality, it depends on the students to choose courses what is best for them in the future. For instance, there are more female than male applicants in a nursing course as this field requires more female professionals. In this case, women in such subjects should get priority because they are more fitted to some areas of study than men.

In addition, males and females should have the same educational opportunities. It would be unfair for university students to base their admission on gender status. Tertiary education schools should select the best candidates for each course according to their qualifications. For example, teaching courses are popular among girls while engineering studies are more common in boys. If seats are reserved and divided equally, there is a chance that many seats will remain vacant. Therefore, university education should be based on talent and performance, not on gender equality.

To sum up, I believe that the process of admission of students in a university should be based on quality. Gender as a basis of selection would be ineffective and not fair for applicants.