What are the positives and negatives of learning a second language as a child?

Some people argue as to whether or not learning a foreign language at an early age is good for children. In this essay, I will explore the pros and cons of this argument with some relevant examples to support it.

On the one hand, the proponents of this view discuss that there are many reasons behind their claims. Firstly, many researches have shown that the best time to learn a new language is at the age of 4-9. The children's brains can easily absorb the new language without not much effort because they do not have any concerns or shynesses. Secondly, learning a foreign dialect at an early age help to prepare a better life for the child when they grow up. For example, in some developing countries such as Vietnam, learning English is really vital as it will give many competitive advantages to get a well-paid job and a decent life.

On the other hand, learning a foreign language too early can result in many unexpected outcomes. One of the negative points is that it could be overwhelming for children since they have to study many core subjects such as math, science, and their mother language, which might be more important than the foreign one. In addition, bilingual children could be more likely to have a language disorder than monolingual ones. Teaching language for a child is not an easy-going job, it requires many experiences and techniques, thus the wrong educational method can result in many troubles that affect negatively the child.

In conclusion, exposure to a new language at an early age may help children to learn more quickly and prepare better for the future. However, without a standard curriculum, children can be suffered from fear of learning and even language disorders.