The use of mobile phone is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phone should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Antisocial, by definition, is behaviors considered annoying and harmful to the society, and smoking is one of those. Some individuals contend that taking cigarettes has a deleterious impact on users and passive smokers’ health, so it should be prohibited in particular places, and the blanket ban should also be imposed similarly when it comes to mobile usage. From my point of view, although there are several negative effects conducted by phone users, banning the utilization of mobile devices in recent days is not advisable.

On the one hand, part of the population regard mobile phones as antisocial as smoking for some justifications, chief of which is that both of them exert detrimental influences on the well-being of people around smokers and phone users. To begin with, taking cigarettes can be seriously harmful to the physical health. In fact, the smoke from cigarettes might not only increase the risk of respiratory diseases for those who are smoking but also health deterioration for passive smokers, who have not lit a cigarette in their whole life. Meanwhile, though texting or phoning do not harm users’ physical health, this means of telecommunication may cause discomfort and unpleasantness for public members. To exemplify, if a person takes a phone call in the middle of a movie in the cinema, he can unpleasantly distract others watching films at that time. Therefore, this disruption and impoliteness goes against the social codes of conduct and unreasonably ruin the enjoyment of viewers at the movie theater. As a result, the indiscriminate use of mobile devices is categorized as antisocial.

On the other hand, despite the fact that using mobile phones is regarded socially disrupted to some extent, I firmly believe that it is absurd to prohibit people accessing to their mobile devices the same way as we have done to cigarette smokers. As a matter of fact, smokers have no valid excuse for smoking in public places and put others’ health in danger, yet phones are the irreplaceable items in modern world and the policy-makers cannot outlaw unless someone use them in a socially unacceptable manner. By way of illustration, if there were a prohibition of mobile phones in movie theater, cinema goers would leave their devices at home. In case his son tried to call him for medical emergency, he could not receive the call, and the life of his son might be at risk. Consequently, a blanket ban on the use of mobile devices may be attributable to regrettable situations.

To sum up, in spite of the fact that using mobile phones is supposed antisocial in certain circumstances, I lean toward the view that as mobile phones are originally made for communicating information and bridging people gap, it would be unreasonable to treat using this mean of communication the same way as smoking.