In many situations, people who break the law should be warned instead of punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People hold differing views about whether cautioning or keeping in prison is preferable for the battle against criminals. From my own point of view, those two options are of equal significance in dealing with crime in particular circumstances.

On the one hand, some individuals argue that warning could be considered socially and humanely appropriate for various justifications, chief of which is that it might be possible for those committing petty crimes such as shoplifting and breaking speed limit an opportunity to reform. To explain, if people who break the law without serious damage to any individual and the society are given prison sentence, there would be a criminal record on their personal profile, which deters them from integrating with the society and landing a job after being released. As a result, being discriminated against and isolated might put ex-prisoners at risk of potential recidivism. Therefore, unnecessarily putting a petty criminal behind the bars would contribute to ruining one’s future, as well as the higher crime rate.

On the other hand, under certain circumstances, severe punishments, including prison sentence, is the best solution to hinder one’s possibility of posing threats to members of society. As a matter of fact, somebody who takes illegal actions which results in a grave loss of human lives and properties, need to serve an amount of time in prison. Only then, he will no longer be a danger to social well-being. To exemplify, for people who are vicious enough to murder intentionally, the warnings might make no sense and they might hold misconceptions that murdering is socially forgivable. Hence, they are likely to resort to violence the next time they encounter a conflict with others.

To sum up, the implementation of both warning and heavy punishment would work based on the level of severity of crimes. While cautioning is more suitable for minimal crimes, being kept in jail would be the most useful choice for cruelty.