The use of mobile phones is harmful as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phones should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, because of the proliferation of digital devices, it is believed that the use of smartphones is damaging like smoking and it should be prohibited in selected locations. Although this thinking is valid to a certain extent, I think that it would have negative impacts on both individuals and society in the long run.

On the one hand, there are a great number of factors why I support the idea that people should not use cell phones at several sites. First of all, some individuals tend to forget to turn off their mobile phones’ ring or make a vociferous voice when using them in public places, especially where it is necessary to keep quiet and not disturb others such as schools, libraries, hospitals, churches, means of transport, gas stations, etc. This means that shows a lack of awareness and disrespect for other people or is more likely to harm human lives in some cases. As a result, a few of those locations notify people about the regulations on using digital devices to minimize the possible consequence. For example, using mobile phones at gas stations is one of the causes of fire, damaging people and property. Secondly, children easily imitate adults’ unhealthy behaviors by observing their actions in daily activities. In addition, using smartphones continuously can destroy children’s natural growth, health and which leads to many diseases such as autism and behavioral disorders in children. Therefore, mobile phones should be banned in certain places where children spend time the most such as schools and parents should teach their children how to use smartphones properly in public. For instance, in Japan, schools do not permit to use of digital devices during studying time and it is controlled strictly.

On the other hand, I think that it could bring many detrimental impacts for each person as well as society in the long term. To begin with, it is undeniable that the development of technology especially smartphones brings many advantages and support to present life. To be more specific, it helps people to access a huge of information on the internet for a variety of needs such as study, work, travel, and entertainment anywhere and anytime. As a result, if using cell phones is limited in certain sites, which leads to reducing life performance in some cases. For example, in North Korea, the government applies regulations restricting the use of mobile phones and the internet for military purposes, but it makes their citizens outdated and backward compared to the world. Another reason is that smartphones are more compact than other traditional tools or devices such as books, notes, desktops, cameras, etc. This means that it supports well for any purpose including studying at school, working at an office or shopping online, etc. Therefore, it saves cost and time for daily activities, which results in improving the quality of people’s life.

In conclusion, although I agree that mobile phone usage has harmful in several cases, I am of the opinion that it should not be banned like smoking because of its benefits for human daily activities and life development in the long term. By raising awareness, it can reduce some detrimental effects of digital devices.