The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the digital era, social media is proven to be a convenient mean of communication, slowly taking the place of direct interactions. However, everything has two side: benefits and drawbacks. In my perspective, there are more advantages of using social media to communicate than the number of disadvantage it has. Both of the two factors will be covered in the paragraphs below.

First, the downsides of using social media for communication are visible. For example, the fact that online communication could eliminate face-to-face encounter could lead to the distance between people in the real world. According to a research conducted by Harvard University, children grow up with early exposure to social media tend to be less comfortable around their loved ones. Furthermore, the reliance on social media as a mean of transmitting information will result in awkwardness in real life communication, as the human mind is not trained to adapt to less familiar situations.

On the other hands, Social media brings a great number of benefits, especially in the quality-of-life features. Communication is faster, meaning that more information will be delivered, increasing the pace of development. Furthermore, using social media will open up an endless opportunity for each individuals to connect with people around the world, without physical or geographical limitations. Explore the world has never been easier with the help of the internet and social networks. Last but not least, online connection could be utilized to set up for direct encounters, with will take noticeably less time to establish a relationships. If used correctly and responsibly, social media communication could resolve many of the external relation shortcomings in each individual’s life.

In conclusion, the benefits that online communication offer will completely cover for its disadvantages. However, people should be able to determine a responsible way to use social media, in order to mitigate all the drawbacks mentioned earlier.