The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary world, thanks to the omnipresence of online social networking sites, social media has garnered significant attention among the masses. Debatable as it is, the positive aspect of online conversations via apps functioning as a way to supersede face-to-face communication prevail over its downsides.

Given the fact that the current world is being challenged by numerous issues, it is sensible to believe in the dark side. First and foremost, there is a growing likelihood that human beings may become robots, or emotionless species. To be more precise, sitting and having eyes glued to the screen of hand-held smartphones for hours to surf the Internet or the newsfeed of several social sites greatly contribute to the sedentary lifestyle, turning people into couch potatoes. In this spectrum, they have the propensity to forget the invaluable assets of interpersonal communication. Besides, allocating plenty of time to overusing social networking channels is likely to exert a detrimental effect on the style of writing and speaking of the young. It is often the case that due to the impact of media sites, abbreviated words or phrases in academic essays and formal emails have been coming into vogue for quite a long time, which is a testament to the detriment of youngsters' mental health.

Despite the above demerits, I personally believe that when it comes to communication, social media does more good than harm. To begin with, social networking sites have opened the door to more opportunities to stay in touch with our beloved individuals irrespective of geographical barriers. As a matter of fact, such renowned applications nowadays as Facebook, Skype offer an optimal medium in paving a way for close connection with our family members and relatives on a daily basis. What is more, social media is conducive to the task of expanding a business by virtue of marketing via networking sites. In this digital age, company managers are capable of keeping their employees informed of the new initiatives as well as future goals by posting their campaigns on social media, which is instrumental in saving a great deal of time and money from the traditional methods of taking advantage of magazines or newspapers.

To sum up, for the aforementioned reasons, I hold an unwavering belief that the positive effects social media bring to our lives far outstrip its devastating consequences.