The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

A question many people have to ask themselves is whether spending time on social media platforms have been overshadowed direct communication. On one hand, i am inclined to believe that social media is the crucial key for human-being to be able to keep in contact in a flexible way. On the other hand, hardly can we deny that face-to-face interacting have enhanced positive feelings among people.

To assess if social media is truly essential, we must bring the advantages of this trend into focus. Assuming an individual had a crave for conversation with his relatives or acquaintances, social media like Facebook, Zalo or even Instagram definitely would be the best options. Not only can such social media support the users in creating bonding between their family members through video calls in a long distance, but it can also decrease the chances of meaningless arguments. In addition, using Facebook is the best way to get stuff out of our chest, which barely wasting a few second. Another benefit is that we do not need a cafe or a room to share our depression, one thing we have to do is turning on our laps or mobile phones and make the phone call.

Although so far, one can readily draw the conclusion that media platform is beneficial, we must put the function of oral face-to-face communication into perspective before judging whether one play an important role than the other. Gathering at one place, a person will have more chances or wise words to persuade or convince high-status people instead of impolite video calling. For instance, it makes sense when a candidate applies his resume to a gigantic enterprise, he must go there in person because the employers can interact with him and be well aware if he should be recruited or not. On top of that, when it comes to the advantage of meeting bodily, eyes never lie.

Taking both sides into consideration, they point me to the conclusion that but in principle, communication in person is outperforming better, in practice due to living in digital age, a person can suppose that social media is the winner.