The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the advantages?

In modern society, people are very much interested in using social media like Facebook, Twitter, ect. Some experts believe that the use of social media is superseding face-to-face interaction among many people. In my point of view, the downsides of social media is outweigh the advatages.

On the one hand, social networks help users connect globally effortlessly. Media technologies lift up any geographical barriers as people can interact with others people around the world. One good illustration of this is that Facebook which is the most popular social network in the world, currently has more than 3 billion users, friends who are miles apart can be linked on social media to chat. Moreover, social networking sites are powerful tools to entertainment after hard working day. Funny videos, hillarious stories, photos, wishes of friends from everywhere can make you recharge your batteries.

One the other hand, the disadvantages of using social media to communicate are much more concerning. The most obvious reason is social network users are manipulated time. Because of being immersed in the virtual world, users often forget about time spent studying, playing sports or working. For instance, many people use social networks to take care of building the "perfect person" in the virtual world but forget to care for themselves in reality. In addition, people who using social media regularly, often lack communication skills. They have difficulty communicating in real life, such as using full words, accents, eyes contact or gestures.

In conclusion, the downsides of social media supplanting real interaction is outweigh the advatages.