The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the advantages?

It is true that a growing number of people see social applications as a substitute for meeting in person nowadays. Despite the obvious advantages of this trend, I would argue that these are outweighed by the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are two major benefits of having a chat through social media. When it comes to people who are immigrating to another place and live far from family, Messenger, Skype, Instagram can connect them with their parents and siblings. Because those immigrants hardly see family members in-person, social applications are the best option for them to meet the family. Hence, they can lessen their homesickness and stay focused on their study or work. In addition, social platforms are also the perfect place for youngsters to make friends who are foreigners since social networking website is for everyone. Young people can take this occasion to discover their alien friends' culture, tradition, cuisine, etc. Therefore, they get a chance to broaden their minds about other countries in the world and acquire a lot of knowledge.

On the other hand, I believe that the drawbacks are more significant than such perks. Firstly, some hackers can steal people's personal information. For some social platforms that do not have high security such as Facebook, a lot of hackers can get into individuals' computer systems without permission to steal their information. After that, they will take advantage of this action by illegally selling those data to others. Secondly, there are a growing number of kidnappings and abductions through social applications. Because this type of platform is not only for normal people but also for frauds. They exploit this opportunity to make friends with individuals who are gullible so that they can make an appointment with these people and kidnap them. Then, they will sell ''their friends" to traffickers to make money or they will call the family members to extort.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the disadvantages of this phenomenon are far greater than the advantages.