The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, the adoption of social media has taken the place of in-person communication. While I accept that this phenomenon can be advantageous to some extent, I strongly believe that it is more likely to have negative impacts.

On the one hand, there are two notable upsides to social media mitigating in-person interactions. The first benefit is that social media is a powerful communication tool. The main reason for this is that it can allow citizens to contact other people regardless of geographic location. For example, students studying abroad can keep in touch with their families and friends on a daily basis by using the video call features from Skype, Facebook, or various other apps, thereby alleviating their homesickness and loneliness. Furthermore, the adoption of social media can enable citizens to approach the news immediately. In this digital age, information can be recorded and spread on various social media platforms in just a few seconds. To illustrate, the news about extreme weather conditions such as storms can be updated immediately for those using social media, thereby reducing the traffic accidents caused by extreme weather.

However, I would argue that the drawbacks of social media taking the place of in-person communication surpass the aforementioned benefits. To begin with, the overuse of social media has detrimental impacts on users’ well-being. When users squander too much time browsing social networks and exposure to blue light from smart devices frequently, they are likely to suffer from various diseases such as eye strain, weak eyesight, and brain damage due to the lack of outdoor activities. Moreover, the adoption of social media can reduce the quality of interpersonal communication. Many citizens who are addicted to social networking sites may stare at their screens during their families’ meals without paying attention to their beloved ones, therefore, distancing people from each other. This can make the users be more apathetic and likely to have alienation and cyberbullying due to the lack of real relationships.

In conclusion, after weighing the pros and cons, I would say that the advantage of the adoption of social media is overshadowed by the negative effects.