The users of social media like facebook or twitter are replacing face to face contact to this century. Do you think its advantages are outweighed by its disadvantages?

In contemporary society, social means become the most essential element of daily life. However, people assume that virtual contact is gradually substituting verbal communication. In my opinion, this phenomenon has more drawbacks than benefits.

It is no doubt that Facebook or twitter brings some advantages to people. First of all, it eliminates the geological barrier. People can communicate with each other even they are in different countries. Moreover, these applications not only support people chat with friends but also make a video call to abbreviate the distance among people. In addition, social media provide the information to people to help them approach what they need in a short time. With the rapid development of these means, the news is updated on facebook and twitter. For example, the enterprises or business choose facebook which is the main means to advertise their products.

On the other hand, there are many disadvantages from utilizing social media as major devices to correspond. First and foremost, people abuse public media will be suffered from the lack of practical communication. This issue could be witnessed in a coffee shop, people ignore everything surround them because they cannot resist the appealing of a phone screen. Furthermore, it facilitates the laziness of people because the messages can be sent to their mates through a simple button. As a result, it triggers many chronic illnesses to physical like eye diseases, obesity, and nervous breakdown. For example, the radiation like of screen makes people suffer from myopia or hyperopia.

In conclusion, although people gain plus points from social media, it cannot deny that the negative aspects outweigh the advantages. Therefore, people should have more face to face exchange instead of using social media at home.