The users of social media, such as Facebook, Twitter, are replacing face-to-face contact in this century. Do you think the advantages of this way outweigh the disadvantages?

Before the existence of public networks, meeting face-to-face was the best way to express not only people’s emotion but also the simplest way to strengthen interpersonal relationships and connecting individuals with others. But with the increasingly building up of social site, we can all consensus that those websites bring back more benefits than the minor disadvantages have been amplified in recent years.

It is significant that social media erase both geographical and social status barriers. Chief among that is to provide several work opportunities, especially improve the employability skills for the adolescents, who usually have smaller social circle and insufficient in sense of identity, as well as offer a safe platform for people to develop their online reputation and internet career. For example, a teenager is getting along with his peers, who inhabit a thousand miles away from him and in the same time as he is facetiming with his mate, he can still handle hundreds of orders from his potential customers, broadcast his consume media, regardless of the long distance. There is no need to wasting time on going across the country or direct meetings.

Conversely, many people, mainly adults argue that young people are getting more and more introvert than the prior generations and tend to be less confident. In addition, they conclude that the confusingly rising obesity rate and other physical and mental illness is the most obvious drawback of over-reliance in cyberspace as internet users are less likely to go outside to meet other people. Albeit those negative impressions are becoming more popular amongst the adult, I must state that those bad impacts happened in just a small portion and the positive side of socializing without using conventional way to keep in touch has been avoided by the misconceived judges.

To conclude, although the lack in real communication and risky to users, the use of social media is infinite and still have more aspects to be harnessed.