We are becoming increasingly dependent on computers. They are used in
businesses, hospitals, crime detection and even to fly planes. What things
will they be used for in the future? Is this dependence on computers a
good thing or should we he more auspicious of their benefits?
Computers are a relatively new invention. The first computers were built fifty years
ago and it is only in the last thirty or so years that their influence has affected our
everyday life. Personal computers were introduced as recently as the early
eighties. In this short time they have made a tremendous impact on our lives. We
are now so dependent on computers that it is hard to imagine what things would
be like today without them. You have only got to go into a bank when their main
computer is broken to appreciate the chaos that would occur if computers were
suddenly removed worldwide.
In the future computers will be used to create bigger and even more sophisticated
computers. The prospects for this are quite alarming. They will be so complex that
no individual could hope to understand how they work. They will bring a lot of
benefits but they will also increase the potential for unimaginable chaos. They will,
for example, be able to fly planes and they will be able to co ordinate the
movements of several planes in the vicinity of an airport. Providing all the
computers are working correctly nothing can go wrong. If one small program fails
— disaster.
There is a certain inevitability that technology will progress and become
increasingly complex. We should, however, ensure that we are still in a position
where we are able to control technology. It will be all too easy to suddenly
discover that technology is controlling us. By then it might be too late I believe
that it is very important to be suspicious of the benefits that computers will bring
and to make sure that we never become totally dependent on a completely
technological world.