We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement

It is true that providing assistance to all people who are in need of help is impossible, so some hold the belief that nations should only address their own issues before taking care of international concerns. Personally, I am in discord with the given statement and believe that it is the duty of each individual to help as many people as possible.

On the one hand, I accept that it is important to help our neighbors and fellow citizens. In the context of this modern world, it is not difficult to meet a homeless person on the street or a child who cannot go to school due to his disability. In even the wealthiest of cities, for example, Japan, thousands of people have to survive by scrimping and saving on the little amount of money from the government. As the problems are on our doorstep, and there are obvious ways to help, particularly donating money or food, I can understand why some people feel that we should prioritize local charity.

At the same time, I believe that we have an obligation to help those who live beyond our national borders. In some countries, the problems that people face are much more serious than those in our own communities, and it is often even easier to help. For example, when children are dying from curable diseases in African countries, governments and individuals in richer countries can save lives simply by paying for vaccines that already exist. Instead. a small donation to an international charity might have a much greater impact than helping in our local area. Also, it is a good chance to improve the relationship between different nations as the authorities in richer countries might be repaid after giving citizens in those poorer areas a hand.

In conclusion, it is true that we cannot help everyone, but in my opinion, national boundaries should not stop us from helping those who are in need.