As well as making money, business also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

People have differing opinions about whether enterprises should have social obligations. Personally, while I accept that making a profit is no doubt their top priority, I think that they should contribute to the society as well.

On the one hand, businesses already have relevant reasons to focus on earning money. Firstly, in order to survive in the competitive world, they have to pay their running costs such as employee’s wages, payments for tax and buildings. Secondly, if a company wishes to develop and prosper, it might need to invest in innovations and inventions, which can only be done if it has a large budget. Finally, a corporation could barely think of making a contribution to society and other responsibilities if it doesn’t even have enough money to operate.

On the other hand, besides the financial aims, businesses should definitely do more for the community. In their process of developing, many environmental problems could be caused by their activities; therefore, it is important for them to take precise measurements to protect the environment. besides, they should also enhance the quality of their employees, who have been dedicating their time and effort to the company, by for example, paying “living wage” or giving them presents in special events. Furthermore, only when the society is in good health could businesses maintain and develop, thus they should definitely take actions to support their local community. For example, they could contribute a part of their income to the charities or education initiatives.

In conclusion, I believe that companies should consider making social contribution in addition to maximizing profit.