As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

The idea that, besides making money, enterprises also need to have public responsibilities remains a source of controversy. In my opinion, while generating profits is the top priority for each company, I agree that they should also conduct their business in a socially responsible manner.

On the one hand, the efforts of companies to maximize their profits may have some benefits for society as a whole. Firstly, the prosperity of entrepreneurs is a contribution to social development. This means that the higher the profits are earned by corporations, the more taxes they pay to the government. As a result, authorities may have more revenue to spend on key fields, including education and health care, which leads to an improvement in living standards of the whole community. Secondly, the growth of businesses is beneficial towards individuals' livelihood as well. In particular, by earning huge profits, companies are likely to expand their production. Consequently, more and more new job opportunities are created within the community.

On the other hand, there are strong reasons why enterprises should accept that they have social responsibilities. The first reason is that their activities more or less have an impact on the environment. Without controls, the production processes may result in a serious environmental degradation, such as global warming stemming from factory emissions or the irresponsible sewage disposal. In order to compensate for the damage caused, companies, for example, can still install waste treatment systems instead of directly discharging chemical wastes into rivers. Another reason is that corporations also need to regenerate their human resources. In some cases, lots of giant entrepreneurs still have to get into trouble with their increasingly aged workforce, helping those who are less fortunate, therefore, is a potential solution for them. For instance, big companies such as Unilever and Vinamilk have enhanced their public image as well as enriched their skilled personnel through philanthropic actions such as providing scholarships and giving charitable donations.

In conclusion, although I recognize that making profits is the underlying principle of business, I would agree that all businesses should reflect upon their responsibilities towards society.