As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibility. To what extent do agree or disagree?

In a competitive world, businesses have always sought to make a profit, but it is becoming increasingly common to hear people to talk about the social obligations that companies have. I completely agree with the view that businesses should do more social activities than simply making money.

On the one hand, it seems clear that businesses have the right to maximize their profit to survive in an intensely competitive market. It is no doubt that the priority of any company is to cover its running cost, such as employees’ wage, payments for buildings and facilities. Besides, businesses also must invest in developed machines or innovations if they want to keep their success. Moreover, if the companies are not in good financial health, it hard for them to have social responsibility. Indeed, not only do the bosses find hard to stabilize their companies, but companies also can not to meet the changing needs of customers.

On the other hand, companies should not run with the sole aim of maximizing profit; they also play a crucial role in society. Firstly, it is necessary for owners and managers to well treat to their employees, rather than exploiting them. For instance, workers should be paid a reasonable wage to have the qualified life/ have the quality of life. Secondly, I also like the idea that business could use a proportion of their profits to support environmental projects, local charities and healthcare system. Finally, businesses don’t not try to minimize tax payments by using accounting loopholes; they should be happy to contribute to society via paying governmental taxes.

In conclusion, business have the right to make money, but I also believe that they always have a wider role to society.