As well as making money, businesses should also have social responsibilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that enterprises should undertake social duties in addition to making profits. I completely agree with this viewpoint since they can attract more employees and raise their public image.

The first justification for my agreement is that taking social responsibility can enable firms to entice higher-quality employees. More specifically, qualified staff tend to favor companies that are famous for being socially responsible as the way they treat society potentially reflects the way they treat their workers. In other words, they might consider that their efforts and dedication to their jobs would be appreciated. To illustrate, Vingroup, a Vietnamese corporation which often allocates huge financial resources for charity work in the community, appeals to numerous workers. According to an in-house survey, one of the main reasons behind their choice to work for it is that it is praised for caring for society.

Another reason why I agree that businesses should undertake their responsibility towards society is that this can boost their image to the public. More specifically, by willingly cooperating with local authorities and inhabitants in preserving the environment or fulfilling other civic duties, they can gain acknowledgement from the community and potentially receive greater support from local people in their commercial activities. For instance, American big-box retailer Target Corp is well known for its social responsibility programs such as donating money to local communities in the form of education grants. As a result, they are given enormous favour from local people, enabling them to raise their sales and further develop their franchise.

In conclusion, I strongly advocate the idea that corporations should be accountable to society as it can allure more people to work for them and promote their brand image. It is advisable that companies engage in social activities to ensure their sustainable growth.