When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To a certain extent, I believe that the most essential consideration in building design is how it will be used, not how it looks. However, I think that the way it was designed also has an impact on people's interest to decide which one they should visit.

There are two main reasons why architects should focus more on its intended purpose rather than its look if they are planning to create a structure. One reason is that the building's construction and usage will affect the community who are currently living around it. The noise when it is being built is one of the factors that cause people's sleepless nights, as a result, they wake up late in the morning or are tired of trying to keep up with their daily schedules. Furthermore, it is harmful to the environment and even public health as a whole. Firstly, construction projects emit large amounts of carbon dioxide and methane while infrastructure developments cause pollution and produce waste, therefore, as the output of the construction industry multiplies, it contributes to global warming in the long run. Secondly, with those detrimental contaminations, people's health can be greatly affected which causes some serious illnesses such as lung cancer, stroke and other respiratory diseases. These consequences will continue to increase if buildings are not designed with eco-friendly systems like life cycle assessment, energy and water efficiency, etc.

Apart from the practical disadvantages of emphasizing the sculpture's use, I would argue that builders should pay a bit more attention to its outward appearance. High-rise buildings are ubiquitous in some big, well-known cities, and it plays an important role in attracting foreign tourists who want to explore its unique beauty, to come and see it. The returns are significantly impressive since it not only improve the locals' standard of living by creating employment in services like accommodation, transport, entertainment but also boosts the nation's economy through investments from multi-national companies. Moreover, outstanding designs can help individuals learn to understand and feel the sense of beauty surrounding them.

In conclusion, for the reasons I have mentioned above, while its function is an important factor, I believe that the exterior of a building should receive the same attention as well.