Widespread of technology has given people more freedom to work instead of travelling to work or college. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantage?

The popularity of technology has bring tremendous impacts on humankind. It is believed that this trend brings more benefits than drawbacks. In my opinion, the advantages of the development would overshadow its disadvantages.

The contribution of cutting-edge technological equipment and application could be witnessed in many aspects of life. First, with the advent of smart devices together with wifi connection, people now are able to study at home or place that are convenient to them. Applications such as Zoom or Google Meet are optimized in order to help many people communicate at once, upload and download learning materials, record lessons easily and effectively. Likewise, the instant connection of wireless devices also enables workers to perform their task at their houses. Job holders, who are used to be burdened with heavy workload and long hours commuting to workplaces, now can speed up their working process and stay at their living places while working simultaneously. Thus, it is beneficial not only the employees but also employers who can save their budget from renting space and funding neccessities for working.

However, the lack of direct communication between managers and their subordinates as well as teachers and student implies several pitfalls. The first problem is that it would lower the quality of working or studying of individuals. It is unarguable that face-to-face interaction is the best form of communication among people. Therefore, if students or wage-earners heavily depend of online platforms for studying or working, they are likely to experience misinformation or misunderstanding. This could cause dire consequences for themselves and their organisations. An additional issue is that people would feel lonely and socially isolated, if they utilized technology for long period of time. In person conversation is the essential way for people use to build rapport and establish meaningful relationships. Without directly talking and observing, persons are unable to see others’ body language, watch their behaviors, and listen to their real voices, which are fundamental for people to build trust with others.

In sum, although there are certain issues associated with using technology for work and absorbing new knowledge, the role of technology is becoming increasingly significant in modern society. I believe that with new technological breakthoughs, the weeknesses of technological invention will be limited while the positive impact of the sector will be expanded.