Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is sometimes argued that we have no use for the wild life, so we should not waste our valuable resources trying to preserve it. While I disagree with the idea that wild animals have become useless, I do believe that we should manage our resources carefully and apply them on what we can actually save.

In my opinion, wild animals are a huge part of the earth ecosystem and the continuous loss of wild life would compromise the integrity of this system. Although we might not touch their effects on a personal level, the constant extinction of various species could lead to bigger problems that will have a serious impact on the entire world. For example, the loss of spiders, although we might think they are useless and even harmful, can lead to increase in the number of flies to a point that will result in life being impossible to continue on the planet Earth. The ecosystem of earth is always in equilibrium, constantly controlled by many factors, losing one of those factor, like the wild life, could result in catastrophic consequences.

However, we should keep a close attention to the resources invested in the preservation of wild life. Spending millions on saving the habitat of an almost extinct species is the wrong way to go for protecting the wild life. As we can use this money to help improve the conditions for species that have better chances of survival. Also, we should not take money from essential areas of life, like education and infrastructure, to invest them in the preservation of wild life, because the development of a suitable environment for humans is more important, especially with the growing numbers in population worldwide.

In conclusion, I do not believe that we should stop investing in protecting the wild life, because it is a fundamental issue that can affect us all.