Women and men are commonly seen as having different strengths and weaknesses. Is it right to exclude males or females from certain professions because of their gender?

There are always differences between males and females in the various types of work they have done. However, we should not restrict them from certain roles because of their gender. From my point of view, it is better to provide them with more freedom of choice in terms of employment to encourage gender equality.

There may indeed be good arguments for limiting men and women working in particular occupations. Females are commonly seen as a gentle and vulnerable gender, whilst males are usually aggressive and strong. Because of these differences, people tend to feel safer and more comfortable about the services which are held by a gender that has more potential in it. For instance, parents would probably appreciate having a female nanny to look after their children.

However, excluding both gender from certain professions can prevent people from pursuing their dream careers. It may not be acceptable because those who love their job can successfully handle it despite their weaknesses. Both men and women can bring slightly different perspectives and approaches to a job. For example, female police officers may not have the physical strength as men but they have a greater understanding of domestic violence and a better range of strategies for dealing with this problem. Male primary school teachers probably have a better understanding of the needs of young boys and can serve as good role models for them.

In conclusion, I strongly disagree with the exclusion of anyone by their gender identification. People should be encouraged to follow their dream despite their gender's weaknesses.