You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

In this modern society, individuals are reputed for not being able to take any actions to enhance the environment. It is only governments and large companies that can bring about modification to this issue. From my perspective, this is not always true under some circumstances.

On the one hand, I definitely hold a strong belief that governments and large companies can take prompt action to improve the environment. First and foremost, since governments and huge businesses have an enormous influence on inhabitants and some smaller organizations, they can easily control and manage to carry out significant methods. For instance, those can force a large number citizens to obey their proposals seriously. Moreover, as governments and big corporations currently possess high position and power in the national apparatus, they are prone to obtain considerable supports from all walks of life. By this way, they are likely to make a great difference in the improvement of the environment.

On the other hand, I strongly oppose to the thought that individuals can hardly do anything to enhance the environment. If residents are not aware of severe problems occurring to their surrounding areas, they will never raise awareness to take measures to protect them. For instance, without doubt, they would lend a deaf ear and do not have an intention to alleviate issues such as soil pollution or noise pollution in their neighbor. Furthermore, governments and huge businesses can put nothing into practice when there are a considerable number of inhabitants resisting acting on their orders. As a result, no goals can be achieved without individuals' contribution.

In conclusion, individuals together with both governments and large companies ought to cooperate with each other well in the long-term in order to entirely improve the environment.