You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and state your opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

To be the home country for such an international sports event like the Olympics or World Cup is a neverending and competitive race. Some people think that hosting an international event is a big opportunity for a boost for the country's tourism and repute. Other ones think that hosting such a big event for just several months will cause significant problems for years. This article will help you inspect if an international event is good/bad for the country.

From my perspective, hosting these events will pull in hundreds of thousands of people, including athletes to the nation, therefore will intensely pull up the nation's tourism while besides attending competitive rounds, athletes and the crowds who come to watch the event will also take a tour around the country and introduce it to their homeland. Moreover, being chosen for the world-class sports event will increase the profile of the country, creating long-term and massive benefits for the economy. Besides these utilities, they will also grow the sport's traditions of the country and make their candidates doing better on incoming events.

On the other side, having a big sports event is not as great as our imaginations. A province, officially the capital, will have to pour big massive funds to build many sports facilities, leading to serious financial problems for a long time. Therefore, world-class or continental-class sports events will required developed countries rather than developing countries. Consequently, other branches like public health or education will suffer from the shortage of income for their actions and developments. Furthermore, having a massive flow rate of people come to see the event will also break the nation's security. As a result, many clashes, violence or even terrorism will happen when people from all the countries meet each other.

Summarizing all the reasons, hosting an international event is an opportunity, benefits and also bad effects. For me, creating big sports events is good, as it made people from overseas know about our traditions and cultures.

Do you have the same opinion?