Young people are much more aware of and concerned about issues like the environment, poverty and animal welfare than previous generations. What is your own opinion?

It is said that global problems such as poverty or global warming are only matter to the young, meanwhile, these issues are not seemed to concern the elder generations. Personally, I partly agree with this notion due to various reasons, which will be discussed in this essay.

First and foremost, when the world first step into the 21st century until now, most part of it is at peace, meaning that people are receiving better living condition as well as education. As the result, unlike the previous generation, who were often sent to the warfare and lived with no certainty, the young are well-educated and also become less likely worrying about their survivability. Thus, other issues such as animal welfare and environment would turn into a more prevalent and serious problem to them, which explain why young citizens are more aware of it.

In addition, the advent of the Internet, a landmark development in technology of the 21st century, allow a superior assessment to the information for the young. Thus, due to the break pace developing of the technology that younger generation are exposed to those world problems at higher frequency. Social media such as Facebook, for example, which is widely used the young, is a great tool that could spread the news around the globe in lighting speed. Pictures of hapless people in the African are now can be seen by children in different part of the world.

However, saying that the previous generations has made no effort to tackle these problems is a wrong assumption. It is obviously that our predecessors had tried to dealt with poverty and animal welfare but the resources and the tools at the moment does not seemed to be sufficiency. Therefore, it is easier for them to give up and pretend that it is not a major problem.

In conclusion, with the much differences between the past and now, it is true that young generation are more concerned about the world issues than older generations.