2. Scientific research should be funded by governments rather than commercial organizations. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the continuous revolutionary scientific releam, the issue of funding the research is highly debatable. Some people are of the view that such research should only be government funded whereas, another group asserts the idea that commercial funding is a more rational approach. I firmly believe and agree with the first school of thought that scientific inquiries and developments should only be conducted through Government funding.

To begin with, government-funded research is more beneficial in terms of long-term benefits. Government has long term plans and such discoveries are aligned with the government objectives and missions pertinent to mass betterment. Similarly, Government driven research is widespread as the results need to be disseminated accross the country. The impact trickles down to different sectors or organizations which eventually benefits the whole society.

On the contrary, commercial driven developments are more for monetary benefits. These researches are conducted in a narrow environment for a short duration to satisfy certain needs. The information is not disbursed with a larger audience owing to conflict of interest and to avoid competition. Conversely, Government funded researches are for longer periods and are well-conducted for far fetched results. They are detailed and result-oriented for significant impact on the country or across border. Hence, opting for developments under Government financial governance is a wise choice.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate my point that inquiries supervised by the Government are far more substantial in terms of sustainability, mass impact and scaled-up knowledge sharing. As compared to commercial funded which has short-sighted benefits and is primarly conducted for financial gain to a specific group or organization.