Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

It is a widely agreed opinion that there is an increase in the number of adults and children who are working and studying remotely since technological advancement are more affordable and available. In my opinion, it is a positive development because the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, humans utilizing technological devices to work and study at house has some negative influences on their life. The most notable drawback is that individuals will lose their opportunities to interact with other face-to-face, which might gradually shrivels their soft skills such as communication and presentation away. For example, people who attend physical classes at university and go to workplace are found to be more confident to speak and express their ideas than those who prefer to stay at home to do their studying and working purposes.

On the other hand, there are a myriad of merits that people could be benefited when applying technology to work and study at home. Firstly, they can get rid of traffic congestion at daily rush hours because of the dramatic decrease in the number of personal vehicles. To illustrate, during the Covid-19 pandemic, when highschoolers and undergraduates as well as white collars in Hanoi was allowed to continue all of their tasks remotely, the capital city witnessed a 70 percent decrease in the number of motorbikes. Secondly, when people are able to work and study at home, they will have more time to take care of their family. For instance, for women who have infants, thanks to the invention of those smart devices, they can nurture their children thoroughly without worrying about losing their jobs.

In conclusion, my opinion is that despite some demerits of studying and working at home by using techonology, its benefits seem to be more outstanding.