Some people believe school children should be given multiple short vacations, while others believe they should get one long vacation. Give the advantages of both and express your own point of view. (Feb – 2018)

School learning forms an important part of a child's growing years. Many opine that school pupils should be given multiple short vacations in order to prevent students from being stressed out as well as for the periodic assessment of their knowledge. However, in my opinion, one long vacation is more beneficial for a successful and focused learning.

On the one hand, frequent vacations of small duration will reduce the academic burden on children as well as parents. In other words, with multiple vacations, the school curriculum will be completed in short phases with limited syllabus, which in turn will limit the stress of exams that majority students have to face. In addition, with short vacations it is possible to assess the knowledge of students on a timely basis. For instance, schools can conduct periodic tests before each mini vacation to test the student's knowledge of the learning for that term.

On the other hand, one long vacation after the completion of a grade will provide long-term benefits. Firstly, if the studies are conducted for an entire year without frequent breaks, children would be less distracted and be able to concentrate completely on coursework. This would allow more time for students to accustom themselves to the syllabus and develop knowledge of the subject. Secondly, vacation at the end of year will help students to keep their learning and knowledge of the coursework afresh till the end of the year. Thus, the chances of performing better in examinations and skillful academic learning will greatly increase.

To recapitulate, there has been a difference in people's opinion about the duration and the frequency of vacations provided to school students. Although multiple short vacations will reduce the academic pressure and frequently reassess the knowledge of students, I believe, a single long vacation will aid in better development of the child and prove to be an academic success for schools.