Compare the advantages and disadvantages of three of the following as media for communicating information. State which one do you consider most effective.

Comics

Books

Radios

Theatre

Television

Film

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience

Technology has granted humans with several modes for passing down information. Radio, books and television have been the prominent ones among these modes of communication. This essay will discuss the advantages and disadvantages of books, television and radio and then I will give my view why radio is the most effective.

The reason of television being useful is that it has an audio-visual output. It has been proven that information is better understood if it has picture with it. Television does exactly the same. However, the downside of television is that it is expensive. Not everyone is able to buy costly device. Thus, if a person cannot afford the television, it can difficult for him to gain information.

Secondly, books have their own share of merits. Books have details and give in-depth knowledge of the particular subject. These details are really helpful for not only those who are into research, but also learning a language as books act as guides. Nevertheless, limited scope of language in which it is published makes it a possible hinderance to non native readers.

However, in comparison to television and books, radio offers a lot of benefits. Firstly, it is the cheapest mode of communication. It is available at nominal prices, so people can easily purchase it. Secondly, it has a widespread reach. This is because of its ability to pass information at lower frequencies, which makes it possible to work in areas of weak signals. But, the only drawback of radio is its reduced popularity. Despite being most effective information source, it is not finding its takers among modern generation.

In conclusion, all three modes of communication namely television, books and radio have both upsides and downsides. However, I feel the advantages of radio are more than that of other two modes of information because radio can work with poor signals and it is easily available.