Some people say that in all levels of education from primary school to University, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

A section of society holds a notion that in all levels of education, be it primary or higher studies, a large amount of time is devoted in teaching facts rather than on practical skills. However, I disagree to the view held by these people as education emphasizes on hands on training.

Kindergarten is a stepping stone in one's education. Students in these classes learn about calculations and other laws of nature using educational toys. Toys such as Legos, a constructive play of bricks and sets, teach three-dimensional thinking, which is a basic skill of physics. Even, the emphasis of intermediate classes is on practical learning. When students undertake laboratory experiments, they learn to apply the learnt theory. For example, the concentration on an acid and a base is found out with the help of Titrarion.

Furthermore, tertiary education system allows students to undertake dissertations. Such projects impart rigourous understanding of theory by proving hand on knowledge via the practicals. To elucidate, in India, a student who is pursuing masters in Business studies is required to provide a business plan. This way, student gains the knowledge to establish a business.

In conclusion, I disagree with the views of some people who believe that education is based on facts and that there is no emphasis on practical skills. This is because at all level of education practical consider the practical exposure.