Research indicates that the characteristics we are born with have much more influence on our personality and development than any experience we may have in our life.

Which do you consider to be the major influence?

Investigations have found out that effect of innate nature on one's characteristics surpasses that of any experience that we encounter in our life time. I agree with this investigation as even numerous experiences fail to change the personality of a person.

Each person is born with a unique talent that sets the course of his life. This means that the behavior and growth of an individual will remain similar in all circumstances irrespective of situation. For instance, an introvert person will always be a little apprehensive, while in a social situation. Clearly, being introvert as a behavioral aspect will be there forever. In addition, when people are born with peculiar traits, their interaction is stylized. That means a cool headed person will not be perturbed even under dire situations. To illustrate, M. K. Gandhi, never retaliated despite the fact that he was racially discriminated. He was always calm and composed. Hence, the traits, which are acquired from birth are crucial to characteristics.

On the contrary, personal experience may have unremarkable effect in molding personality and growth. The person may behave differently because the situation may have demanded for him to behave in that manner. For example, an innately frugal person becomes spendthrift, while partying with friends. By this, he is able to draw attention towards himself for a while, nevertheless, remaining expenditure conscious at all other times. Certainly, personal experience is only effective temporarily.

In conclusion, although personal experiences create some impact on quality of a person, they are unable to change the innate nature of a person. Therefore, I strongly support the findings of the research about qualities by birth affecting individual's personality and development. I feel, perhaps, no quantum of personal experience can change a person.