Computers are being used more and more in education. Some people say that this is a positive trend, while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences.

Discuss both sides of this argument and then give your own opinion.

There is an ever-increasing use of technology, such as laptops and tablets, in the classroom. It is often argued that this is a positive outcome, whilst others disagree and think it will lead to adverse ramifications. This essay agrees that increased use of technology is beneficial to both students and teachers.

Development of technology has interconnected the whole world, providing users of computing devices access to an enormous source of information, the internet. Moreover, learners could research and learn about any subject at the touch of a button. It is therefore agreed that technology is a very worthwhile tool for education. Wikipedia is a prime example, where students can simply type in any keyword and gain access to in-depth knowledge quickly and conveniently.

However, many disagree and feel that technology deprives people of real human interactions. Human interactions teach people valuable skills such as discourse, debate and empathy. Despite this, human interaction is still possible through the internet and this essay disagrees technology should be dismissed for this reason. For instance, Skype and Facebook make it possible for people to interact with others in ways as never before.

In conclusion, while the benefits of technology, particularly the internet, allow students as well as educators to tap into limitless sources of information, some still believe that people should be wary of the possibilities of it curbing face to face interactions. Nevertheless, as long as we are careful to keep in mind the importance of human interaction in education, educational benefits are clearly positive.