Cricket has become more popular than the national sports in the sub-continental countries.

What do you think are the reasons behind this?

Nowadays, some specific sports are becoming more and more popular among people, no matters of which continent they are from. Cricket is one of these sports which has plenty of fans around the world, even more, that some traditional and national sports. This essay discusses some possible causes that lead to this matter.

To beginning, it should be stuck that most of the people prefer and enjoy watching exciting match more than those ones which are less exciting. Since cricket is one of the most exciting match, it seems that the main reason to be more popular is lined in this fact. For illustrate, wrestling that is considered as a national sport for some countries, in comparison with cricket has got less popularity.

On the other hand, rules of cricket make the players to work as a team member and also, to support their peers. It could be a good reason for popularity because this situation leads to more collaboration and promote a sense of unity and can bring people together more than those single-player sports. For example, Ski, which is a national sport for some countries, is a single-player, although they could attend as a team, some people believe it is a boring match.

Another point that should be mentioned is about being entertainment which cricket is enough entertaining so can attract the attention of a big proportion of people, especially young generations.

In conclusion, with regards to the popularity trend of cricket which is an upward trend, there are some reasons that result in more popularity rather than national sports such as being more exciting, bring people more closely and create a sense of homogeneity.