Crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that is? What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

One of the major issues, in most countries, is the rise in the crime rate in the urban areas than the rural areas. In my opinion, there are several factors that could be the cause for this; unemployment, greediness, high standard of living, political pressure and most importantly, hunger.

People are often more attracted to urban areas than rural due to increase in work opportunities and high standard of living. On the other hand, lack of jobs in countryside where most jobs involve farming and blue-collar jobs which usually is a low paying job. Although, with high standard of living comes higher expenses. The rent gets expensive, groceries and outdoor dining gets costlier. With the urge of fulfilling basic necessities, if unemployment gets hit, then rises the criminal mindset to plan a crime. There is also a thick line between the rich and the poor where in some cases, poor people are often exploited.

The government plays a major role in taking vital actions to spread awareness. They could increase the police task force, especially near schools, banks and high-risk zones. This would indeed increase the costing and indirectly the budget towards the security domain which could be controlled by installing CCTV cameras and security guards. Government could also tighten up the punishment for criminal offenders which could introduce fear in them.

In summary, rise in crime rate in urban areas is a huge concern for most of the countries where the primary focus should be towards the safety of women and children. Also, understanding the reason behind a crime or demystifying the root cause would often help in getting a clear picture of criminal’s mindset. Increase is policemen would definitely aid in reducing the crime rate