Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this ? What are the measures can the international community take to meet this demand?

In the world today, people are struggling to be nourished in all the under-developed and developed countries. Moreover, the urge for food is categorically increasing for people throughout the world. In addition, governments are striving hard to meet the requirements of humans for food.

There are many reasons for the demand for food in the world. Firstly, overpopulation in many countries is the major cause of diminishing food as the rate of production in such countries are less than the rate of consumption. Secondly, in the developmental process, all the developed countries are exploiting the natural resources such as land, water, forests, which eventually resulting in scarcity of water to irrigate, land to practice agriculture. For instance, people in Orissa are clearing the trees from large areas to build housing societies which eventually resulted in a shortage of land to practice agriculture.

In order to overcome the inadequate amount of production international organizations need to create awareness among people from all the countries about employing the technology in agriculture to increase the overall productivity. For instance, Germany has been employing many techniques such as drip irrigation, machine thawing in farming to increase the amount of food they produce. Furthermore, countries which are producing a surplus amount of food need to export to the country which does not have scope to farm with low tariffs.

On the whole, the increased demand for nourishment has to be reduced by employing new farming techniques and importing from the food abundant nations.