Developments in science and technology have caused environmental problems. Some people think that a simpler way of life will protect the environment, while others believe that science and technology can solve environmental problems. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions differ as to whether technological advancement should be simplified to preserve the environment or ought to be employed to cope with problems. Admittedly, both views are reasonable with its merits; however, I tend to be convinced by the latter idea, considering that it alternates non-renewable energy, in addition to addressing green issues.

Rationally, people who opt for less sophisticated technology typically assume that it will reduce energy consumption. To put it simply, assuming that dwellers restrict the overuse of high-tech equipment, which consumes a large amount of electricity, they will subsequently develop a more environmentally-friendly lifestyle without a doubt. A salient example can be seen with greenhouse gases emissions that stem from household appliances such as air-conditioners, water heaters, televisions, and the like. In addition, chemical substances such as fertilisers and compost, which are rather convenient and effortless to stimulate plants, will contaminate and pollute not only soil but also water and air, thereby undermining residents’ health and well-being.

Conversely, a reason which convinces me to reject the former idea is that technological innovation is rather pivotal to address green issues. People now can generate electricity from alternative resources, which inaugurates the era of renewable energy. Conceding that solar energy, wind and wave energy were developed, it would be rather simple to halt the electricity produced from non-renewable energy, including coal and fuel. In addition, applying scientific innovations on manufacturing processes can diminish irreversible damage To clarify, purifiers and waste treatment systems can tackle water pollution.

In conclusion, people have rationale to claim that there will be less environmental deterioration if there is less complex advancement in science and technology. Despite this, I still support the opinion that it can resolve problems since it is more advantageous and aims for the long-run betterment.