Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful than those countries which do not have a long working time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today's ever-changing world, a well-established fact shows that lengthening average work duration can generate economic success, compared to countries with short working time. I tend to completely disagree with this opinion after considering underlying reasons such as employees’ health as well as the employment of technological achievements.

To begin with, an extended work schedule does not necessarily improve productivity, yet it seems rather detrimental to workers’ well-being. To elaborate, due to heavy workload, employees are unlikely to have the ideal work-life balance, thereby being morally undermined, which subsequently deteriorates their health. Salient examples can be seen with emerging problems such as fatigue, work stress and depression. This, explicitly, can hold back economic success.

Another convincing point is that economic levels are not associated with work duration. Notably, it is the efficient usage of advanced technology that has a tight relationship with public financial assets. To put it simply, the effective application of technological and scientific achievements can generate a productive work environment, therefore, it enhances enterprises’ profits, which contribute to the overall nation’ financial ratings. An example to illustrate this point is the Silicon Valley: although workers do not have an exact work schedule and they can work whenever they want, which seems rather lacking in discipline, the outcomes of their work cannot be underestimated, all thanks to the triumphant adoption of technology.

To recapitulate, business hours have no impact on economic ratings, given that adding working time can weaken workers’ well-being, and the technological appliances are more valuable instead.