Disadvantages and advantages of shopping online

Nowadays, there has been a substantial increase in the number of consumers who uses the Internet to directly buy goods and services. This trend, electronic commerce, would create certain benefits, but there will also be some drawbacks. In this essay, I will discuss both views of them.

On the one hand, it is clear that buying via the Internet would bring about several advantages. An evident strength is that it would be extremely convenient. A majority of online shops, for example, give us the opportunities to buy 24/7 so you can surf the Internet to choose what you want and then pay it in seconds. Besides, there are many kinds of accepted payments among which cash and a credit card are typical examples. Providing a variety of sources of goods and services is one of the great advantages of online purchases. You also can find many brands and items that you are looking for such as clothing, foods, furniture, and equipment. Especially, if any pieces of stuff are limited or sold out, you can buy them in other parts of the city, state, country or even world instead of your region. Last but not least, the additional positive aspect is that you can easily save money as cheap deals and better prices are always available online. Moreover, it is not difficult to make a direct comparison between the whole deals and find the best one. Plus, when you were a member or collected the coupon and bonus point, you would be entitled to a generous discount.

On the other hand, this trend does not completely benefit, there are several negative aspects that should be taken into consideration. Firstly, we should not turn a blind eye to the fact that online shopping is a negative environmental impact. In fact, for some items, packed with cardboard that can recycle is enough; however, most of the productions are wrapped up with several layers of plastic that are extremely depleted natural resources and contributed to global warming. Moreover, the carbon footprint will go up if items have to be redelivered or returned. Secondly, though saving time is the benefit of online purchase, the delivery of the goods to the customer’s doorstep frustrates them and prevents them from shopping online. The delivery time mainly depends on the geographical location between retailers and consumers, so it can spend 2-3 weeks to ship. Eventually, it could take longer if the weather is unfavorable. Thirdly, people may buy low-quality products. Many online stores usually hide bad characters of products, but they only show good sides aiming to attract customers’ attention. For instance, once I visited a fashion website in which a skirt that I was satisfied with was sold at a reasonable price. I decided to buy it immediately; as a consequence, its length was so short that I could not wear it when I went out.

In conclusion, shopping on the Internet will have both upside and downside in individuals and on the environment. The strengths are the convenience, the varied source, and the economical way while the weaknesses are the long-term effects on the environment, the postponement, and the low-quality goods. In my opinion, the Internet is a wonderful invention, but you need to use it wisely not to have the disadvantages.