Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give own opinion.

Can the environment be protected from being polluted by a handful of people? As a matter of fact, more often than not it is believed by many a man that protection of the environment is the liability of the government; another school of thought argues that every individual alive on the planet should be accountable for a safe environment. To my mind the citizens of the world must hold the burden to protect the earth from getting polluted because no government can work at the grass route level of their country without the helping hand of volunteers.

Arguably, the centuries of exploitation of human resources has not been considered the root cause of environmental pollution for no reason. Since the use of non-biodegradable products has been increasing day by day, it has become the duty of the individuals to protect their own neighborhoods from being polluted.

Notwithstanding this, the opponent opines that it would be impossible for the individuals to protect the environment without the stringent environmental laws, which can only be done by the government to protect the interest of nature and the citizens.

In my opinion, the government and the general public must work as hand in glove with each other as one cannot exist without the other, so a balance between the government regulations as well as the society as a whole is required for the protection of the environment.

To conclude, without any doubt, although individuals are more burdened to protect the environment because of their usage of the environment polluting products, the need for strict laws for the proper usage of the products lies in the hands of the government. Therefore, if both government and the individual work together for the protection of the environment, it would lead to a socially stable and healthy society; lest good outcomes should be far out of reach.