Each year, the crime rate increases.

What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

crime is the biggest evil of our society. Over the last one decade the crime rate in our country has increased substantially. In this essay, we are going to discuss various causes for crime and the measures to prevent criminal activities.

criminal activities are majorly performed due to two main reasons. Fistly, the major factor is unemployement, in India almost 20% population is unemployed and which eventually provks them to adopt unfair means like theft and extortion to fulfill their daily needs. Moreover, lack of secuirty measures available in the country is also an added incentive for criminals to perform their horrific acts for instance in Gurgaon city it is very difficult to commute after 9pm in night as most of the areas are not adequately illuminated further they are not guarded as well which gives criminals a great platform to execute their horrible task.

various measures which can be taken by goverment to control crime rate are Introduction of special employement programme for people who are living below the poverty line, such as prime minister employement opportunity programme launched by Indian goverment for welfare for destitute people. Furthermore, goverment should also focus on improving the safety measure by providing better infrastructure like proper street lightining, enhancement of security forces, late night patroling by police officials are few of the examples through which crime rate can be reduced. Additionally, the imprisonment timeliness should also be increased for criminals, which will pass on a strong message to these bad evils to put an end to their wrong deeds.

Finally, to conclude crime is very difficult to be erased from our society, however if government can take strict measures against the criminals, it is very much possible that it can be minimized to a greater extent.