The international community must act immediately to ensure all nations reduce the consumption of fossil fuel (gas and oil). To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Humans are exhausting their natural resources. It is time, we must make sure all countries are limiting their utilization of fossil fuels such as coal, petrol, diesel, etc. I agree with the statement and we must change our dependencies on fossil which are non-renewable resources, to renewable sources of energy, otherwise we will be damaging our ecosystem. In my opinion, we must switch to sustainable energy to reduce pollution and climate change.

To begin with, fossil fuels have become indispensable part of our life. We use them to power our vehicles, industries, etc, and burning of fuels releases harmful gases in our atmosphere which stays there for decades. Some of these gases that acts as a catalyst in enhancing the temperature of the earth. The rise in earth’s temperature leads to climate change and it triggers series of events like change in seasons, melting of ice, rising sea levels, draught, flood and lots more. With all these negative aspects in mind, governments must utilize our sustainable sources of energy, which are solar, wind and water to produce electricity and provide it as an alternative to fossil fuels. By harnessing sustainable energy our dependence on fuel will be limited which will eventually limit production of pollutants, also.

On the flip side, we cannot immediately stop our consumption of fuel as it will economic slowdown on global level. Most of the country will not be able to generate funds to feed its people being their source of income and for other nation it will stop their development. Currently, we do not have technology to replace the consumption of oil, gases and coal completely so we must put our efforts in finding an alternate source. This action will require huge money influx across the globe.

To conclude, it is important to switch to other source of energy and reduce pollutant which leads to series of events. Governments must plunge in funds for research on alternative to fossil fuel. Until then we can definitely reduce our consumption of fossil fuel, but we cannot end our dependency.