Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the views and give your own opinion.

It is no surprise that data collection is ruling the masses across the globe and the same trend can be noticed when it comes to job aspirants and their potential employers. While it is understandable that organizations expect to understand the candidate’s profile technically, it has now become a norm these days to request the job seeker’s private information such as marital status, age, religion which is alarming. In this essay, I will be discussing both the views along with the rationale in determining whether such practices are healthy. I personally think that sharing personal information with the employer is acceptable.

To begin with, I would like to explain a bit about why I think it is relevant to express private information with potential employers. Although some may find this practice as absurd, it in itself is an amazing opportunity for the hirers to understand the candidate in detail and that helps them evaluate the suitability of the aspirant in their work environment. Consequently, once the job seeker becomes an employee, he/she would be able to gel up with the team within no time.

On contrast, there are few that consider this approach intimidating and they prefer to refrain themselves from sharing their personal details. It has been covered and well established by media on how low people can get to and misuse the privacy of candidates for their own benefits. For instance, cases where candidates are not offered job unless they agree to satisfy the motives of the person hiring are not very uncommon. Unfortunately, this definitely impedes the growth of society.

With all the pros and cons in mind, would it be reasonable for employers to seek for their potential employees’ private information? I personally think this is a healthy practice when conducted responsibly and can turn out to be a win-win for both the employees and employers in the long run. It bolsters the transparency and can lead to long term success of both the individuals and the organizations.