Every year several languages die out. Some people think thatthis is not important because life will be easier if there are fewer languages in the world.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this modern era, there is an ongoing deliberation among people on usability of minor languages. While some people argue that it is better to narrow down the language options available, on my pont of view I strongly agree with that statement. In this essay, I shall discuss on the actors strengthening my point of view while anallyzing both sides of it.

First and foremost, there are myriad of advantages of less number of language options such as effective and efficient communication, confidentiality and intergrity. For example, the Welsh language is becoming a minority language in Wales, because majority of the Welsh people are migrating to other parts of the country for better prospectus. In addition, the younger generation prefers to use globalized languages such as English. If we have limited optons of languages there will be minimal possibilities for miscommunication, with less number of conflicts as well. Therefore, linguistic studies will not be an important subject in the near future.

On the other hand, the interpreters and translators would lose their studies, meanwhile the national and cultural identity will deteriorate over the period of time. For instance, constitution of Sri Lanka has recognized three official languages, consequently there is a huge demand for the people who work as interpreters and translators. However, in some circumstances it is important to take conservative measures on some languages since it has been used in writing important documents which is used for further development.

On conclusion, it is recommended to operate with less number of languages to make the the lives of the users easier. It is believed, that governments can encourage people to learn globalized languages by facilitating with sufficient resources and funds such as trained teahers and materials.