Famous people sometimes give their opinions on public topics. Is this a good thing? To what extent do you agree or disagree.

As freedom of speech becomes widely accepted in modern society, celebrities would like to make comments on social topics. Some people believe that is it a good phenomenon, while others object. In my own perspective, it is more advantageous for famous people to provide their opinions on public topics.

On the one hand, some of those celebrities could offer constructive and meaningful suggestions to public topics, because they are not only the super stars in their own professions, but also politicians or government officers after they retire. They could highly focus on the social problems related to the development of the country directly with the resources that they possess. For instance, Yao Ming, well-known as the greatest Chinese basketball player, is a committee member of the Communist Party. After retired, he gave several significant suggestions to Chinese sports development which promotes the heat and popularity of sports and exercises among Chinese people, especially teenagers. Apart from that, perceptions from some famous people are ahead of time and could even foresee the future. Take Zhang Zhaozhong as an example, as a former general of Chinese Navy, he pays high attention to the economic development around the world. He predicted several major events correlated to the global economy, such as the Subprime Mortgage Crisis about a decade ago.

On the other hand, no all the points of view given by celebrities are helpful, instead they could even be misleading occasionally. For example, a certain amount of young entertainers would like to post their comments of thoughts towards public topics on social media. However, without sufficient experience and insights to the issue specifically, most of their ideas are useless or even incorrect, yet teenagers who adore them could believe in them completely.

To sum up, it is an advantageous trend that celebrities give their opinions to public topics generally, since most of them have the resources and concentration to focus on the social problems. Nevertheless, some famous stars might not provide useful advice because of the lack of experience, thus the general public should learn to how to screen those negative information.