Nowadays there is an increasing trend of big shopping centres opening up while small shops are closing down. What are the advantages and disadvantages of big shopping centres versus small local shops?

These days a rapid growth in chains of international shopping malls has been observed, while, on the other hand, small neighbourhood shops are closing down. As far as my prespective is concerned, mega shopping malls have benefits of greater range of products and lucrative promotional schemes. However, these shopping centres are less accessible as compared to local shops and also effect local economy, adversely.

these shopping centres are part of international chains, which can import products from around the world and offer a wide range of goods to their customers as compared to small shops. Moreover these malls offer attractive discount schemes to lure their buyers and in this way helps to reduce the groccery bill. For instance, Hyperstar in pakistan is always offering discount on their products in pakistan. In this way, these shopping centres are helping their customers.

On the other hand, most shopping cetres are far from residential areas, while local shops are situated on walking distance, therefore, shopping malls are less accessible as compared to small shops. Furthermore, small shops are managed and owned by local population and support local economy of a town, while shopping malls are part of multinational chains and are mostly concentrated in major urban centres, which can be pernicious to local economy.

In conclusion, big shopping centres are helping a great deal in bringing a wide range of products to us and reduce our expense, though they are less accessible than small shops and also have deleterious effects on native economy.