Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others Say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Due to climate change, humanity is facing a lot of challenges. There are certain people, who argue that lose of natural flora and fauna, due to extreme weather condition is the chief issue, while others believe that there are many other challenges of foremost importance, such as rising sea levels, flash floods, and cyclones, as compared to mere loss of certain kinds of animals or plants.

Change in weather conditions is, definitely, leading to lose of certain kind of plants and animals, which can have a negative effect on biodiversity and in turn can affect the food chain, adversely. For instance, according to some studies a complete extinction of honey bee can render our planet unlivable. Moreover, there are some plants, which has medicinal importance and lose of such species can hinder the research for cure of certain diseases. However, all these drawbacks may take decades to have any meaningful impact on our lives.

On the other hand, climate change is causing global warming, which is resulting in more crucial issues such as flash floods, rising sea levels, and cyclones. Flash floods are destroying villages every year and eroding fertile lands. Take the example of flood of 2010 in Pakistan, which wrecked a havoc on, at least, one fourth of the country. Furthermore, rising temperature is main cause of melting the glaciers on poles and raising the sea level. Now we are facing more cyclones in our coastal areas than ever and these storms are destroying our shore line.

In conclusion, I believe, due to their destructive nature, natural disasters are much more serious environmental concerns than extinction of certain types of plants or animals over the period several decades.